CECS NANO AMPAC

MSE Faculty

Contact Information
Click picture or name for detailed bio info.

Research Interests

Dr. Sudipta Seal Dr. Sudipta Seal
Interim Chair, Director of AMPAC and NSTC

Sudipta.Seal@ucf.edu
(407) 823-5277
Interim Chair's Message

  • Nanmaterials processing and characterization
  • Nanobiotechnology
  • Materials for optics, sensors, coatings, fuel cells
  • Oxidation/Corrosion
  • Surface Science and Engineering
  • Chemical Mechanical Planarization
Dr. Linan An Dr. Linan An
Professor, MSE
Linan.An@ucf.edu
(407) 823-1009
  • Micro-fabrication of ceramics for MEMS applications
  • Processing structure property relationships of ceramic materials
  • Polymer-derived ceramics
  • Nano-materials/composites: synthesis and properties
Dr. Yuanli Bai Dr. Yuanli Bai
Assistant Professor, MSE
Bai@ucf.edu
(407) 823-4548
  • Constitutive modeling of plasticity and fracture for new materials including metals and nano-composites
  • Lightweight designs, structural impact and crashworthiness
  • Multi-scale finite element analysis and material subroutine development
  • Experimental techniques development
Dr. Quanfang Chen Dr. Quanfang Chen
Professor, MAE
Quanfang.Chen@ucf.edu
(407) 823-2152
  • MEMS/NEMS (micro/nano-electro-mechanical-systems
  • Sensors and Actuators
  • Nanocomposites for MEMS
  • Biological MEMS devices
  • Microfluidic systems
  • Micro scale materials characterizations
  • Molecular Dynamics Simulation
Dr. Hyoung Jin 'Joe' Cho Dr. Hyoung Jin "Joe" Cho
Associate Professor, MAE
hjcho@ucf.edu
(407) 823-5014
  • Micro/Nanofabrication for BioMEMS and optical applications
  • Microfluidic devices
  • Micromachined magnetic sensors and actuators
  • Fundamental MEMS process: UV-LIGA, electrodeposition and packaging
Dr. Lee Chow Dr. Lee Chow
Professor, Physics
Lee.Chow@ucf.edu
(407) 823-2333
  • Novel Carbon Materials
  • Diffusion in Silicon
  • Thin Films Deposition
Dr. Kevin Coffey Dr. Kevin Coffey
Professor, MSE
Kevin.Coffey@ucf.edu
(407) 823-2175
  • Thin Film Processing
  • Magnetic Materials
  • Solid State Reactions
  • Nanoscale Tribology
  • Magnetic Thin Films
  • Grain Boundary Diffusion
Dr. Neelkanth Dhere Dr. Neelkanth Dhere
Research Faculty and Professor, FSEC
dhere@fsec.ucf.edu
(321) 638-1442
  • Photovoltaic Materials Processing
  • Photovoltaic Materials Characterization and Testing
Dr. Jiyu Fang Dr. Jiyu Fang
Associate chair, Graduate Program Coordinator
Jiyu.Fang@ucf.edu
407-882-1517
  • Biological Interfaces
  • Nano-scale Science and Engineering
  • Molecular Self-Assembly
  • Polymer Thin Films
  • Biotechnology
  • Soft Lithography
  • Scanning Probe Microscopy
  • Liquid Crystal Imaging Techniques
Dr. James Fenton Dr. James Fenton
Director, FCSE and Professor, MAE
jfenton@fsec.ucf.edu
(321) 638-1002
  • Renewable Energy
  • Energy Efficiency
  • Proton Exchange Membrane Fuel Cell Technology
Stephen Florczyk Stephen Florczyk
Assistant Professor, MSE
Stephen.Florczyk@ucf.edu
(407) 823-2738
  • Processing and characterization of biomaterial scaffolds
  • Tissue engineering
  • Tumor microenvironment
  • Characterization of cell-material interaction
  • Stem cells
Dr. Romain Gaume Dr. Romain Gaume
Assistant Professor, CREOL-NSTC
Romain.Gaume@ucf.edu
(407) 823-5683
  • Design, fabrication and characterization of optical ceramicsÊ
  • Laser ceramics
  • Scintillator materials
  • Thermoelectrics materials
  • Nanoceramics
Dr. Romain Gaume Dr. Andre J. Gesquiere
Associate Professor, Nanoscience Technology Center & Department of Chemistry
andre@ucf.edu
(407) 454-1317
  • Nanoscale Optoelectronic Materials and Devices for Energy Conversion
  • Nanobiology: imaging and biophysical studies
Dr. Jan Gou Dr. Jan Gou
Associate Professor, MAE
Jihua.Gou@ucf.edu
(407) 823-2155
  • Composite Materials Manufacturing
  • Mechanics of Composite Materials
  • Durability of Composite Materials
  • Nanocomposite Materials
  • Smart Materials and Structures
  • Molecular Dynamics Simulations
  • Finite Element Simulations
  • Materials Processing and Mechanics
  • Nondestructive Evaluation
  • Solid Mechanics
  • Design and Manufacturing
Dr. James Hickman Dr. James J. Hickman
Professor, NSTC
jhickman@ucf.edu
(407) 823-1925
  • Nanoscience
  • Engineered Neuronal Networks as Drug Screening Platforms
  • An In Vitro Model of Stem Cell Innervation of Myotubes
  • High Throughput Electrophysiology for Pathway Identification
  • Nanocolumn-supported nanoparticle array for early detection of lung cancer biomarkers
Dr. Qun  "Treen" Huo Dr. Qun "Treen" Huo
Associate Professor, NSTC
Qun.Huo@ucf.edu
(407) 823-2155
  • Synthesis, property studies, and application development of nanoparticle materials
  • Architectural organization of nanobuilding blocks.
  • Precise control on both the chemical structures of individual
  • Controlled chemical functionalization of nanoparticles
  • Development of nanoparticle/polymer hybrid materials
Tengfei Jiang Tengfei Jiang
Assistant Professor, MSE
Tengfei.Jiang@ucf.edu
Homepage
407-823-2284
  • Reliability metrology
  • Emerging interconnect and packaging systems
  • Micro/nano-fabrication
  • Microstructure and interface
  • Micro/nano-mechanical characterization
  • Synchrotron x-ray microdiffraction
Tengfei Jiang Yeonwoong (Eric) Jung
Assistant Professor, Nanoscience Technology Center
yeonwoong.jung@ucf.edu
  • Low-dimensional electronic materials (nanowires and 2D materials)
  • Nanoscale structure-property relationships
  • in-situ transmission electron microscopy
  • energy and electronic technologies
Hyeran Kang Hyeran Kang
Assistant Professor, Nanoscience Technology Center
Hyeran.Kang@ucf.edu
  • Biophysics of cytoskeletal protein assembly and dynamics
  • biopolymer and cell mechanics
  • molecular mechanism of mechano-sensing
Dr. Aravinda Kar Dr. Aravinda Kar
Professor, CREOL
akar@creol.ucf.edu
(407) 823-6921
  • Fabrication of nanowires for integrated nanodevices
  • Laser Drilling 170-Micron Diameter Holes
  • Laser-Doped Nanostructuring in SiC for Deep Green Light Emitting Diodes
  • Nanoscopic Optical Sensors
  • Novel Erosion Resistant Coating For High Temperature Composites
  • Ultrahigh Temperature Optical Sensing
Dr. Lorraine Leon Lorraine Leon Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, MSE
lorraine.leon@ucf.edu
  • Molecular Engineering & Self Assembly
  • Biomaterials
  • Polyelectrolyte Complexation
  • Soft Materials Characterization
  • Nanomedicine
Dr. Seetha Raghavan Dr. Seetha Raghavan
Assistant Professor
seetha.raghavan@ucf.edu
(407) 823-1737
  • Mechanics of aerospace structures and materials
  • Piezo-spectroscopy
  • Thermal barrier coatings
  • In situ strain measurements using synchrotron radiation
  • Non-destructive evaluation
Dr. Kathleen Richardson Dr. Kathleen A. Richardson
Professor of Optics, CREOL
kcr@creol.ucf.edu
(407) 823-6815
  • Design, processing and characterization of infrared optical glass and glass ceramic materials
  • Precision glass molding (PGM) and optical manufacturing science
  • Planar on-chip chem/bio sensors
  • Performance and reliability investigation of multi-material, Si-based, opto-electronic systems
Dr. Swadeshmukul Santra Dr. Swadeshmukul Santra
Associate Professor - NSTC, Department of Chemistry, and Biomolecular Science Center
Swadeshmukul.Santra@ucf.edu
(407) 882-2848
  • Quantum dot nanotechnology
  • Antimicrobial nanomaterials
  • Agricultural pesticides
  • Biodegradable polymers
  • Bioimaging and sensing
  • Drug delivery systems
Dr. Patrick Schelling Dr. Patrick Schelling
Associate Professor, Physics
Patrick.Schelling@ucf.edu
(407) 882-1016
  • Computational Materials Science
  • Thermal Transport
  • Electrochemistry
  • Electronic Structure Methods
  • Multiscale Simulation
Dr. Winston Schoenfeld Dr. Winston Schoenfeld
Associate Professor, CREOL
winston@creol.ucf.edu
(407) 823-6898
  • Semiconductor & Integrated Photonics
  • Epitaxial Growth
  • LEDs & Laser Diodes
  • Quantum Dots & Nanostructures
  • Optoelectronics
  • Oxide Semiconductors
  • Photovoltaics
  • Periodic Structures & Photonic Crystals
  • Nanophotonics & Plasmonics
  • Nonlinear & Quantum Optics
  • Solar Energy Applications
  • Integrated-Optic Sensing
  • Optical, EUV & X-ray Lithography
  • Displays
  • Quantum Communication & Information
Dr. Yong-ho Sohn Dr. Yong-ho Sohn
Professor, MSE
Yongho.Sohn@ucf.edu
(407) 882-1181
  • Multicomponent Multiphase Diffusion including Thermotransport
  • High Temperature Materials and Coatings including Thermal Barrier Coatings
  • Oxidation and Corrosion
  • Materials and Coatings for Energy Production, Storage and Conversion
  • Materials Characterization and Electron Microscopy
Dr. C. Suryanarayana Dr. C. Suryanarayana
Professor, MAE
Challapalli.Suryanarayana@ucf.edu
(407) 823-6662
  • Nanostructured Materials
  • Processing and Properties of Non-equilibrium Materials
  • Mechanical Alloying
  • Materials Characterization
Dr. Laurene Tetard Dr. Laurene Tetard
Assistant Professor - NSTC, Physics Department
Laurene.Tetard@ucf.edu
(407) 882-0128
  • High resolution microscopy
  • Nanoscale spectroscopy
  • Subsurface Imaging
  • 2D materials characterization
  • Soft matter characterization
  • Nano(bio)technology
Dr. Jayan Thomas Dr. Jayan Thomas
Assistant Professor, NSTC
Jayan.Thomas@ucf.edu
(407) 882-0196
  • Nanoimprinting techniques 
  • Nanoarchitectured solar cells 
  • Nanostructured ultracapacitors
  • 3-D display techniques using photorefractive polymers
  • Nonlinear optical materials
  • Optical limiting devices
  • Nanophotonic devices
Dr. Raj Vaidyanathan Dr. Raj Vaidyanathan
Professor, MSE
raj@ucf.edu
(407) 882-1180
  • Properties and multi-scale mechanical characterization of advanced materials
  • Micro- and nanoindentation
  • In situ diffraction (neutron and synchrotron x-ray) at load and temperature
  • Residual stress measurements
  • Smart materials, metallic glasses
Dr. Yang Yang Dr. Yang Yang
Assistant Professor, NSTC
Yang.Yang@ucf.edu
(407) 882-1180
  • Nano materials synthesis and characterization
  • Graphene, 2D materials and beyond
  • Supercapacitors and batteries
  • Water splitting
  • Catalysis
  • Smart electronics
Dr. Lei Zhai Dr. Lei Zhai
Associate Professor, NSTC
lzhai@ucf.edu
(407) 882-2847
  • Conductive polymer/nanotube composites
  • Polymer Derived
  • Surface Functionalization of Microfluidic Systems
  • Bottom-up Assembly of Poly(3-hexylthiophene) on Carbon Nanotubes: 2D Building Blocks for Nanoscale Circuits
  • Conductive block copolymer systems to disperse and stabilize CNTs
  • Controllable Drug Delivery Systems for Diabetic Patients
Materials Science and Engineering, College of Engineering & Computer Science at the University of Central Florida
Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 12760 Pegasus Drive, Engineering I, Suite 207, Orlando, Florida, 32816  •  TEL: Jodi Peters (407) 823-0607, FAX: (407) 882-1462   •  web@cecs.ucf.edu